Shahtoot

Jimble jamble
Nimble thimble
Words scatter
My mind
Bursting against
The insides of my head
Multiplying
Whispering
As they pass each other by

I think of dreams
Not dreaming them,
Planning, scheming
About those
That say
My god
People have too much money 
In New Delhi
I can’t sleep

Till I see
The girl
Walking in Sanjay van
Silently
Touching leaves
Hugging trees
Healing scars
Of the earth
As she picks shahtoot.

– Jit Shankar Banerjee

Jit lives and works in and around Green Park. He occasionally cooks aloo-gobhi.
Find his work here

To have your expression (photographs, paintings, poetry, videos…. anything share-able) featured on this site, please email me at mirrorworkss@gmail.com with a photograph, three line bio and relevant contact/social media information. Namaskara!

Leave a Reply

