Death

As you trace the marks of my being

I stare in your eyes

searching for the love that will stay

even after I’m long gone…

I search for the courage in your deep brown eyes

which will help you sail through this beastily world…

alone

I can see you’re scared as you hold my hand tight..

but it’s okay dear, you know the end is near

you gently kiss my cheeks ,cold and numb

and stroke my hair with your frail thumb

You say I’m sorry I never danced with you

I know it’s always what you’ve been wanting to do

and I give a shy smile as that is all I can do

Now they pull me away from you,tears trickling down your eyes

one or two

your hands stretched out towards me,not ready to accept

the truth

and I’m in the operation theatre,

someone give me a pen and paper

I wish to write my last words to my man

you are the best I ever had

but I have to go now,he waits me above

so I close my eyes and say goodbye forever. 

– Kusha Bhadwal

Kusha Bhadwal, 21, is a psychology honours graduate from Amity University and is currently pursuing Masters in Counselling Psychology. She enjoys dancing, reading and expressing her love for food. She aims to spread awareness about patriarchal social evils that affect our society & bring a considerable change to the same.


To have your expression (photographs, paintings, poetry, videos…. anything share-able) featured on this site, please email us at mirrorworkss@gmail.com with a photograph, three line bio and relevant contact/social media information. Namaskara!

Leave a Reply

