Earthquakes and Wreckage between You and You

The place where I lived, the earth never shattered, the buildings never collapsed.

The windows cracked open on my palms though.

The earth shivered, like my constant anxiety, like a panic attack,

Like something is going to happen,

That my earth might just crack right open

I have always prepared for the time the earth will shatter,

When the worst happens, and mostly epicentre is around me,

I want to run away, to an open space,

You are not sometimes but my only home, I feel I have,

But I want to run away to open and breath, look behind and see,

It is just a tremor; I won’t shatter right now,

I’ll come back,

But I’ll practice my drill,

I have seen how earth shatters and people die due to the wreckage

I am not worried about how broken I will be, or if I would die,

I am worried, how will I continue and survive.

– Riya Ray

Riya Ghosh Ray, 22, is a graduate from University of Delhi, India in Literature now pursuing Masters in Gender Studies from Ambedkar University Delhi. She performs/writes poems to talk about things that she can’t talk about otherwise, in between dealing with the leftovers of her heart and her friends from Madness Villa.


To have your expression (photographs, paintings, poetry, videos…. anything share-able) featured on this site, please email me at mirrorworkss@gmail.com with a photograph, three line bio and relevant contact/social media information. Namaskara!

Leave a Reply

