Sarang

This piece is based on the North Indian classical raga Shudh Sarang. It has got a very calm, noon feel to it with the open sun and a nice mellow breeze letting someone’s long hair flow with the music.

My relationship with flute and music began from 5th Standard when I purchased a flute from a local fair and tried playing it on my own. I took up flute in school and started learning Hindustani Classical under the guidance of my Guru Shri Sujit Mandal (Maihar Gharana) from 2006.

My relationship with the flute became deeper over the years and I realized that I wanted to spend rest of my life playing and learning music. Sometime in 2010 I discovered Alghoza through YouTube videos and was fascinated by it’s sound. A year later I traveled to Jaisalmer, Rajasthan and started learning the Rajasthani Alghoza under the guidance of Shri Tagaram Bheel (Moolsagar, Jaisalmer) while living in his village. In Jaisalmer I also met many other folk musicians and also picked up the Morchang. In June 2012, I traveled to Pandit Hari Prasad Chaurasia Ji’s Brindaban Gurukul, Bhubaneswar on a two month music scholarship awarded by Krishna Prerna Trust, and experienced the tradition of Guru Shishya Parampara.

Through my rigorous training in the Gurukul, I had the opportunity to learn new Ragas and experience deeper nuances of Indian Classical music under Shri Sameer Rao,who is one of the most senior disciples of Pandit Hariprasad Chaurasia. My extensive musical collaborations with my school friend Arman Ali diversified my knowledge, as we experimented with various genres of music including psytrance. Over the years I have been part of various musical groups/bands and also given various solo performances.

  • Kartikeya Vashist

Kartikeya is an indian Flautist who plays various woodwinds,performs and composes Indian Classical, Folk and World Music. Find his Facebook page here, and his Soundcloud here

Send us your expression at mirrorworkss@gmail.com with a short bio + portrait + relevant contact information to have it featured on this site. Namaskara!

Leave a Reply

